DON’T SETTLE FOR A PALLIATIVE

Some time ago I met an individual I have been helping by providing them with some financial support. When I got a closer look at them I realized they were bigger than the help I was offering them. They deserved better, and I wasn’t the one to give them the greener pastures they deserved. They were supposed to go get it. As I was meditating on these things the following words came to my mind, “you are where you are because I have been giving you a palliative. Henceforth I will no longer give that to you and you will be able to go for the real thing.” This is how I got the inspiration for this post.

Some people are where they are today because they settled for a palliative and forgot the real thing. A palliative is anything that stops you from going for the original or permanent solution. Sometimes we quickly settle for things that make us feel good for a time or season only to realize later that we are missing out on a lot of things.

Why do people accept palliatives?

             When we do not have the mind-set of an achiever or world-changer. When we easily get satisfied with mediocre results.

             The price to pay for a permanent solution may seem too high and unreachable.

             When we are in a hurry to satisfy our desires and are not ready to be patient and get the real deal.

             Ignorance about what is ours and the right we have to take possession of it. Did God not say it is ignorance that makes us perish (Hosea 4:6)?

             When the palliative offers temporary satisfaction that is very similar to what we originally dreamed of.

Don’t make of that place, situation, job or position your permanent habitation if God has promised you more. I refuse to go back to Egypt but I equally will not settle in the wilderness. I will enter Canaan no matter how many giants are there. I refuse to be satisfied with less than what God has promised.

WHAT DO YOU THINK?

